Friday Bike Droolin’

It’s Friday everybody! Thanks a bunch to everyone who stopped by to check out the blog during its first few days on the internet – there were way more of you than I expected and it’s nice to know that there are so many bike-minded people out there. It’s been a long week, so here are a couple trips that are making me want to flip my desk over, put my dog in the trailer and hit the open road:

From farther afield…

Long Haul Trekker’s recent post on cycle touring in Bulgaria awakened a desire to see eastern Europe that I didn’t even know existed. Endless dedicated cycle track through bucolic countryside, readily available vegetarian eats and cheap, comfy accommodation? I was googling flights to Sofia within minutes. I assumed that since it’s out of the way and relatively unvisited, getting to Bulgaria would be prohibitively expensive, so I was surprised and pleased to see that you can get from SFO to SOF for around $850. Sofia also has the coolest collection of “entire home or apartment” Airbnbs right in the center of town for less than $50/night that I’ve seen in any city, anywhere. So Bulgaria, I’m coming for you, and I’m bringing my bike. I’m trying to talk Morgan into a multi-city southeastern European tour in 2017.

…and closer to home…

4-8-16_Zion
Zion National Park, I will ride all over you. Photo from here.

We’re planning a little bike tour in southwestern Utah at the end of May, and I can’t wait to get out there and see some colors in the desert. We’re planning to roughly follow the Adventure Cycling Association’s Utah Cliffs Loop, featuring nearly 300 miles of paved and dirt trails through cliff and canyon country. I’ve never spent any time in this area so I’m excited to check it out and eat my body weight in baked goods and frozen custard. There aren’t a ton of trip reports from this loop online, so we’re trying to decide which bikes to take and how many miles per day to plan for. If anyone has done this route or any other riding in southwestern Utah, let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

